still can't save settings

<hidden> anonymous
Created: 3 years and 4 months ago • Updated: 3 years and 4 months ago
I've tried everything (I think) but still can't save my settings. Cookies are deleted upon closing DDG. I am running Ghostery.
Not choosing to use the "cloud" option, I tried these instructions found on this forum:

DDG-engine URL parameters
- settings are appended onto the DDG-engine URL as codes
eg, kaa=p&ku=1&kn=-1 in https://duckduckgo.com/?kaa=p&ku=1&kn=-1
- the pre-assembled compound URL can be copied directly from the Settings page in [Bookmarklets and settings data] link (very small link at bottom left of the Settings (dialog)
- copied coded-URL is then used as the DDG-engine opener (URL)

It doesn't work for me. My settings preferences revert to default every time I open a new session of DDG, even via the bookmarked URL!

Any thoughts or referral to another post I may have missed? Please be patient as I have little tech knowledge.

Thank you all

This forum has been archived

Thank you all for the many comments, questions and suggestions. Particular thanks go to user x.15a2 for constantly monitoring, replying and helping so many users here. To continue these discussions, please head over to the DuckDuckGo subreddit.

anonymous
Is DDG your current homepage?
If you set the homepage in the browser's settings, write there the full URL with params, eg. https://duckduckgo.com/?kaa=p&ku=1&kn=-1
posted by <hidden> • 3 years and 4 months ago Link
anonymous
Yes, DDG is my homepage. Homepage is set in the browser settings but changes every time DDG is closed.
anonymous
This is not a normal behaviour and DDG can't change browser settings without user choice. Check your browser and computer.
anonymous
I have no answer. I dealt with the same problem as others I've talked with.
I just quit using DDG as a result. It just got too frustrating.
Jlg