Free Designer

[Old Forum dgeorgeny] anonymous
Created: 8 years and 3 months ago
I will do the graphic design of anything about Duck Duck Go or any member's website for free.

This forum has been archived

Thank you all for the many comments, questions and suggestions. Particular thanks go to user x.15a2 for constantly monitoring, replying and helping so many users here. To continue these discussions, please head over to the DuckDuckGo subreddit.

anonymous
Hi George, you're certainly welcome to help out.
I don't know what you should do, though (I don't run this place).
posted by [Old Forum mrmagical] • 8 years and 3 months ago Link
yegg
Thank you very much for the offer. I don't have anything in particular at the moment except what I said in my other thread, which is thinking about how you might improve the search UX either holistically or incrementally. I'm collecting feedback and as a designer I would highly value it.
posted by yegg Staff8 years and 3 months ago Link
yegg
Here's something I just thought of :). Now that the favicons appear much more, it is sort of obvious when they don't appear. It might be nice to have a very subtle default favicon so everything appears like it lines up. Any ideas?

One idea I think is interesting is the chrome default for when an image breaks.

To see that, open chrome and go to http://duckduckgo.com/Test_(assessment) -- the third and fifth links down appear as subtle squares (at least on my browser).
anonymous
A subtle square or generic document icon (blank sheet of paper, like this: ) would work, I think.
yegg
You can see what that looks like right now on http://tmbg.duckduckgo.com -- seems a bit too distracting to me, and document may imply more of a document than a Web page. Something more subtle/less specific/more generic?
anonymous
It's easy to use an icon with less contrast:
Both Firefox and Chrome use this kind of icon for sites without a favicon.